A Rare First Edition

How about a Tuesday laugh? In The Big Sleep, private eye Philip Marlowe (Humphrey Bogart) walks into what looks like an ordinary bookshop, but which he knows is really a front for criminal activity. Behaving like a book nerd, he asks the woman supposed salesperson:

Would you have a Ben Hur, 1860,. Third Edition, with the duplicated line on page one-sixteen?

By chance, I discovered yesterday that Passports has a date typo. I don’t know how the heck I missed it before now. I’m not saying here where it is exactly, but someone with an eagle eye and much better than average historical knowledge may spot it. (Otherwise, probably not. None of my proofreaders caught it, and that’s totally understandable: it is a pretty obscure fact.)

So if you’ve got the book already, or will soon buy it, until that date is amended…. you own a first edition collectible! 😉