Who Am I?

I was born in New York City (longer ago now than I care to remember), and grew up in nearby Suffolk County, on Long Island. I have been married to my lovely wife since 1999, and we have lived in several places in her native Britain, including north London, Christchurch and Trowbridge (outside of Bath), and are now back in London. We also spend as much time as we can in Catskills ski country, in upstate New York.

Having once been one myself, I had long been interested in young Americans’ experiences in Europe. I even considered writing a non-fiction book on that subject. (In an earlier life I had been an academic.) Ultimately I decided against doing so. Weighty tomes by or about Americans abroad are a dime a dozen, and everyone who has ever backpacked somewhere seems nowadays to write or blog their “travel memoirs.”

The Author (l), received by President Jefferson. Monticello, 18.... uh....
The Author (l), received by President Jefferson. Monticello, 18…. uh….

So, I wondered, “What about fiction rooted in facts?” And that’s the way I headed. I have been graciously granted several years to spend my time writing these novels. The third one in that series, Distances: Atlantic Lives, 1996-1997 is out now. I hope you enjoy all of the books, and that you discover some new friends of your own within their pages:

Novels so far, print edition covers.
Novels so far, print edition covers.

The future is always coming. The next novel will be a story of the 1780s-1790s, containing a mixture of real historical figures and fictional ones:

Working Cover for "Conventions." Click to expand.
Working Cover for “Conventions.” Click to expand.

I hope it will be out in 2017.:-)

On here, you’ll also find my takes on travel, expats, international matters, and whatever related that pops to mind…. sometimes seriously, sometimes rather less so.

I hope you enjoy your visits.

All the best,
Robert

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?

    • R. J. Nello January 3, 2016 / 5:42 pm

      Hi ya! I see you are Bath? We much preferred Bath and went into there all we could. What a place! We even came within a hair of renting a flat there – not far from Waitrose (The Podium, you probably know).

      But you get lots more for the money in Trowbridge of course: there we had a full house. It’s a decent place, but everyone I’d met there also seemed to say the same thing: “We can’t afford Bath, so we’re here in Trowbridge.”:-)

      Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s