Two Years Ago Today

Posted by

My mom died on October 26, 2015. (The cause was lung cancer, probably contracted as a consequence of decades of smoking. We could never get her to stop. I would not wish how she died on my worst enemy. If you smoke, STOP! If you don’t, please DON’T START.)

The Fifth Dimension’s “Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In” – probably THE MOST 1960s song there is – was one of her favorites. I’ll always associate it with her:

[My iPhone last night. Photo by me.]

I was in a class play when I was age 10 in which my teacher, Miss B_____ (who seemed REAL old to us kids; thinking back from now, she was probably about “25”), had us all dancing to that. I can still recall overhearing Mom laughing to Dad about her after the show: “That one is definitely a former hippie.” I had no clue what a “hippie” was.

I wrote nearly all of Distances during 2015, before we had any hint my mom would not live to see 2016. Her mid-1990s prediction of what would follow in years to come politically was obviously not on target. Regardless it’s a happy memory for me and served as one source of writing inspiration and material:

[Excerpt from Distances. On Kindle for iPad. Click to expand.]

Regularly she kidded me about Thomas Jefferson too…

[Screen capture of Twitter.]

…I suppose she did so with good reason.

[Yesterday afternoon sun, Hertfordshire, England. Photo by me.]

Thanks for reading. Have a good day, wherever you are in the world.

And if she is still around, be nice to your mother.

5 comments

  1. I need to heed this advice. I have a terrible relationship with my mother. And of course, I know time is running out for me to fix things. And yet, I just can’t make that leap. I must, though…
    Hope you’re feeling okay, Robert.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I’m doing fine. I feel more for my dad. I know everyone’s personal circumstances are different, and that’s probably too glib of me to suggest – just to be nice to your mom. My mum and I had some real “barnburner” arguments over the years. Anyone overhearing might have thought, “Wow, they’re done for sure.” But at times that was just how we “cleared the air.”

      Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

