A Warning Label (In Case You Should Ever Read Any Of My Novels)

Posted by

Oh, no, here we go again. A Disney character:

Yet it’s “maybe” they should not? Why “maybe?” That’s not exactly fearless opinionating, is it?

It’s called equivocating. How about having the strength of one’s convictions? Regardless it’s yet more that leads anyone who writes fiction to bash their head down on their desk repeatedly or to want even to hide under a bed.

We’ve already been lectured “Disney Princesses” are a danger to little girls (presumably of all backgrounds). We’ve also been told that “rom coms” can encourage not taking stalking seriously. We’ve also been informed that creators should write “50 percent” women characters (especially increasing the numbers of those over “age 40” – although their desired ethnicities, religions and sexual orientations, etc., had not been made clear).

I have also noted my disgust at a “romance” trend of Nazis as “leading men.” But those authors certainly have the absolute right to write like idiots. And they are not “maybe” idiots.

Those are just some “representation” issues I can immediately recall having addressed here previously. Now it’s “maybe” who/what should not form certain little girls’ Halloween costumes. (By extension, presumably, those same little girls who “maybe” should not dress up as that character ought also not to pay – or, more accurately probably, their parents should not for them? – to see that film or others similar to it? Or should they not go THAT far?)

I do believe we are increasingly seeing some fiction writers choosing to confine themselves to “trolls, blue creatures with tails from other galaxies, and flying broomsticks,” etc. Doing so avoids issues of actual humanity and how humans may come out on their pages. After all, non-humans don’t have human issues like age, male or female, race, religion, ethnicity and so on.

Every book published in 2017 (and every film, too), may appear nearly anywhere within hours. I’ve learned I have readers in countries I never imagined a reader would be interested in what I write. (Which is greatly flattering.) I know every word I write might be read anywhere by anyone.

[My novels so far: Passports, Frontiers, Distances, and Conventions: The Garden At Paris. Photo by me, 2017.]

Unfortunately, I cannot be everything other than what I am. However, I do my best as a writer to learn, observe carefully, and to try to understand. Wherever you are reading this, and in case you have never read any of my novels and perhaps do so, I warn you here so you are not shocked at the content you will encounter…

First, I write lots of women characters. (And I’m a man, but I hope that’s acceptable as I would prefer not to write books only encompassing men.) I also write lots of men. (And being a man I presume that makes writing about men okay.) I also write teenagers, both boys and girls. (I had once been a male teen myself, and I knew teenage girls.)

I write lots of Americans. (I am one, so I assume that too makes that acceptable.) I write British, too. (I live here in Britain, and my wife is English; so I hope that’s then fine.) I write French also. (I’ve spent more time in France than anywhere else in my life besides America and England, and French people are probably the “third” largest group of people on the planet I’ve known personally over the years – after Americans and English.) And I write Italians, Irish and Germans. (My ancestry includes Italy, Ireland and Germany; and I’ve known lots of Italians, Irish and Germans.)

I have written Russians and Japanese, too, although I’ve never been to either Russia or Japan, nor have I any of either nationality in my own background. (But I have known some Russians and Japanese over the years.) I have also written various characters possessing other ethnicities, nationalities, religions, and even sexual orientations rather different than my own – mostly based on people I have known of those backgrounds.

I could go on…

Just so you know. 🙂

Further thoughts?

