Tuesday Motivation

Posted by

Hello again! I’m back here in England since Saturday. The jet lag is fading…

It is also initially occasionally a mild “culture” shock returning here after a visit to the States. It takes a day or so once again to get used to not encountering irritating traffic lights and awkward STOP signs at every intersection (roundabouts are much more common), and drivers who generally stay in their own lanes on motorways, pass only on the “fast” side (meaning here, on the right), and don’t weave dangerously in and out like lunatics as in New Jersey. 😉 And cricket is on the television on a Sunday afternoon as a major event:

In some ways, England reminds me also of how the U.S. “used to be.”

Outside a quiet Howard Centre (mall), Welwyn Garden City, yesterday morning, before it opened at 11.🇬🇧📸🌤 With certain exceptions (airport stores, motorway rest areas, pharmacies, owner sold produce like farm shops, and some others), there are legally reduced Sunday business retail hours here in England – 6 hours open max – for large stores and malls, and working that day in retail is generally voluntary. Sunday remains "special" here. (The WGC parking is only £1 all day.) . Currently, the sky doesn't look like that – we live a few miles away – this early Monday morning. Forecast: ☔️Have a good day, wherever you are.😊 . #travel #weekend #Hertfordshire #England #business #Sunday #Monday #expats #expatlife #photos #photography #writers #writersoninstagram #writersofinstagram #authors #authorsofinstagram #politics #retail #sky #clouds #weather

A post shared by R. J. Nello (@rjnello) on

On the flight, I had a bit of a re-read of Conventions. As I’ve said before, I dislike re-reading what I’ve written. I suppose in that it is a lot like an actor being uncomfortable watching him/herself on screen, or a singer who cringes at the sound of his/her voice.

I avoid re-reading my novels because sometimes I stumble on writing in them that dissatisfies me. I re-read them mostly when needing to refer to them for what I’m writing in a new manuscript; and I have begun another book much like Conventions. However, that is at least another year before it will be anywhere near seeing light of day.

As I sat there, I thought to myself that sometimes it is worth veering off a projected path. Heading down a new route briefly and trying something different is often creatively useful. It might even freshen you up.

A scroll of Instagram earlier in the British Airways lounge at Newark had got me thinking. Also seeing a couple having dinner caught my attention…

Later, on the plane, that tapping around in Conventions moved my mind on further.

Maybe the Coke and vodka at 39,000 feet helped as well…

[Photo by me, 2017.]

A story idea hit me. Yesterday I started turning that idea into something tangible on the page. And so far so good…I think.

I’m working on a short story: a current day travel and social media tale. I’ve never published a “short” before, and I hope it will be out within a month or so probably as an e-book only – like a music “single” unattached to an “album.” I don’t believe it will be long enough to justify a paperback; but, then again, you never know.

#books #beyourself #motivationalquotes #motivationmonday #quotes #justdoit #success #keepgoingon

A post shared by Laura C. Cantu (@lauraccantu) on

Actually I feel exactly the opposite as a writer: much as I just did in this post, it is decidedly motivational and useful to share your general plans. Once you reveal what you hope to do, you are more likely to follow through on it. Writers are often the kings and queens of self-doubt and procrastination: if they show only “results” there is a real danger they may never actually finish that “secret” idea they had had in mind.

That said, if I believe this – or any completed – writing is rubbish, no way do I share it in public. I give myself the final say no matter what was “promised.” Garbage that is published can never be unpublished.

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

One comment

  1. Dear Robert, don’t worry! Your qualified English & your ideas are necessary for the world of present! Good luck with your new writing adventure!
    Personally I’ve always regarded literature as my favourite writer, Milorad Pavic: it’s a big experiment. And you always seek for new forms, new plots, even new unusual, odd ways how to express yourself. Books demand some vogue too. We must meditate on any new collection, adding a touch of something incredible.
    Have a nice week!
    Maria 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

