Desperately Seeking (Blog) Subjects

Posted by

I noticed yesterday that over on Twitter Giulia has been asking…and, it sounds, asking increasingly desperately…

I’m surprised by that. Her blog is more than worth a read and follow already. No need for coffee or tea bribery either.

Generally, if stuck – for some reason – for a post topic, the first question I think any blogger should ask him/herself is this: What drives you to host your site in the first place?

I’m here primarily for my novel writing. Often, though, as you may also know I will veer off into whatever happens to interest me on any given morning – and which I hope, naturally, will interest you, too. Usually that latter revolves around travel, life in Europe, and so on.

So what is your main driver?

If you write fiction, for example, you may want to share some of what you write. Don’t be bashful. I encounter writers on the net who write about writing but never seem to share what they are writing. I’d like to read some and so do lots of other people out here, trust me.

Do you blog because you like traveling? Mountain climbing? Driving across wide open spaces? Discussing what to wear? Skiing? Your dog or cat? (If your dog or cat skis, you have a definite topic right there.)

And how about just observing the world around us and having a smile?:

Jane Austen died today in 1817 at age 41.๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ“šThe Georgian and Regency novelist of romances and relationships among the English gentry – especially focusing on women needing marriage to achieve economic security and a betterment of their social status – who has become a cultural and literary icon, never married. In not doing so, she never experienced herself all sorts of additional intimate relationship revelations that follow the happy day – which perhaps only the blissfully married may fully appreciate.๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿ˜‚ . #JaneAusten #Regency #Georgian #marriage #romance #romancenovels #England #history #love #humor #humour #writing #writers #authors #literature #authorsofinstagram #writersofinstagram

A post shared by R. J. Nello (@rjnello) on

The net is full of negativity. If you’re struggling for a post, a genuine laugh is probably more than welcomed by most of your readers.

And what about where you live? You may not think your region or your town is “interesting” to outsiders. In making that assumption, however, you are probably wrong.

Likely there are aspects to life around your home that readers many miles away – and who will perhaps never visit the area – may enjoy reading about.

Indeed, you may well surprise yourself totally by accident. You can’t entirely predict what might catch “fire” with readers – and perhaps attract new ones. For instance, my most liked and read post BY FAR and OF ALL TIME is one I composed while writing Conventions, in which I discussed fashions in the 1700s in England and France.

I was stunned at the number of visitors that September 2016 post attracted. I had never seen anything approaching that before; and I have not seen anything like it since. Believe me, when I had clicked “publish” that morning, I had no inkling of what was about to happen: it seemed, to me, like just another post.

As with my novels, I write here about the sorts of things I like to read about. I gamble that because I like to do so, I must not be the only one out here who wants to. Usually I discover I am right.

In short, don’t be afraid to try a variety of topics. Write about whatever grabs you. And feel free to experiment.

And have a good day, wherever you are in the world.๐Ÿ˜Š

8 comments

  1. Dear Robert, thank you for a very driving post & wonderful landscapes! I’m very surprised to learn that some bloggers may be stuck with topics. I guess that the blog must have a strategy , then you will always have things to write about. And, sure, you must think of your audience…with time. ๐Ÿ™‚
    By the way, could you post anything about the English tea tradition? It seems to have appeared later than in the 18th century. I would be curious to learn about early English tea rituals. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m preparing a nice 2018 blogging year for all of you ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m torn apart with topics! so many things I want to tell.

    Have a nice day & perfect tea time!
    Best Wishes,
    Maria ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes ideas just don’t flow easily. I do know the feeling.

      I haven’t thought to write on tea. I know it was a big drink from at least the 1600s, but would need to look into it in more detail.โ˜•๏ธ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Agree, especially when mother-in-laws or something else interferes into creative flow, it’s difficult to write! Please do! I will prepare my special mag of English porcelain to have a double pleasure!
        What is your favourite kind of tea? I adore Earl Grey. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

Further thoughts?

