Shelved In Vermont

Posted by

It’s a rainy, windy, ugly morning here just north of London…

View from the office right now, just before 9am. [Photo by me, 2017.]

I am in the earliest stages of writing another novel – I’ve got a dozen or so pages of “brainstorm” and I’m working on an outline.

Also, I’ve just done what you should not do after you have completed the “magnum opus” and are feeling a bit of a sense of “letdown” in facing getting started on something brand new: I became distracted by had a check of Instagram and I posted a photo…

After, I looked over at my personal Facebook. When I did that “facebooking thing,” I remembered this.

It was Memorial Day weekend. Over in the U.S., a friend of my cousin “Maria” stayed with her husband at a B&B in Vermont. The woman had located the place commercially – not through any word of mouth. Its owners were strangers.

Fall. 📷 | @jitabebe #TravelVermont #SeeVermont #Autumn #Vermont

A post shared by Vermont (@travelvermont) on

When they arrived, on a lounge shelf sat one of my late uncle’s novels. She snapped a photo of it and shared it on Facebook with my cousin.

“Maria” then shared it with our family. It was a hardcover. It was an early book of his – over thirty years old.

What authors may leave behind and where…

Books on a ski chalet shelf, La Clusaz, France. [Photo by me, 2017.]

That is yet another reminder. Whatever you write will outlive you. It might even end up, in “2047,” somewhere you hadn’t ever imagined.

I thought also of how my uncle might have reacted if I had found it and told him. He would have loved it. Yet I suspect he would also have been a tad cynical: “Nephew, that’s where they all end up eventually. At least it’s in Vermont. I love Vermont.”

And he would almost certainly have had a follow up question or two: “Uh, the B&B owner? You have an email? Does she want me to sign it for her?”

Have a good – and a dry? – day, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

2 comments

Further thoughts?

