Old San Juan

Posted by

We decided earlier this year that we would take a holiday somewhere we’ve never been: Puerto Rico:

We flew down here from New York on Thursday. A major impetus to doing this were cousins of mine, whose family roots are in Puerto Rico. Years ago they had suggested we give it a visit.

When I wrote her asking for some suggestions a couple of months back, one cousin practically overloaded my Messenger:

From Messenger.

Incidentally, some close family still do refer to me as “Bobby” from our childhoods. But I have been Robert to everyone else in school and to the world since age 10 or so. Anyone who calls me “Bobby” here gets unfollowed!😂😂😂

So far it has indeed been a pleasant surprise. And give me a historic fort fought over for centuries, and, well, I’m ecstatic:

We are in Old San Juan for a few days before we fly to Vieques for some sitting on a beach. Cruise ships stop here – the passengers offload for a time. Some wander around and have dinner or whatever.

Most visitors seem to be Americans. My wife had noted that she was surprised not yet to hear any British accents (but I’m thinking there may be no direct flights here from the U.K. – I have to check). However, our first evening, we meandered into a place to have dinner and the server was a French Canadian woman who told us she had married a Puerto Rican and loved living here.

Oh, and I’m not kidding about slow drivers in that Instagram post. In, say, Rome, they drive like maniacs on narrow, cobbled streets. Here, they respect pedestrians and always give them right of way and putter along so slowly at times it’s almost surreal.

Have a good weekend, wherever you are in the world.😊

Further thoughts?

