PUBLISHED: “Conventions: The Garden At Paris”

Posted by

I thank all of you who follow me here and have purchased my earlier novels. Once again, I have reached what is simultaneously the most satisfying moment a writer experiences and also the most unnerving one. Conventions: The Garden At Paris is becoming available on Kindle currently on Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.com, and all other Amazons:

With that novel finally finished, frankly I’m about finished as well. Mentally, I had been thinking for years about writing a tale like this one. I had been actually doing it since January 2016:

Preface to Conventions: The Garden At Paris

The “late 1700s” are exhausting.

The paperback will be out, I hope, next week:

No novel is perfect, of course; but in having reached publication, as a writer you have accomplished your main goal. Because at some point you must declare your labors completed and release your work to be read. You are not an author until, uh, you have been beaten up in public. πŸ˜‰

Although it was officially published yesterday, you know what today is? It is Thomas Jefferson’s birthday. He was born on April 13, 1743.

In jest I like to call Conventions my “magnum opus.” If you read it, some of you may think I’ve lost my mind. But it is essentially what I wanted: a late 18th century “extravaganza” – travel, culture, history, politics, passion, love, family, loss, terror, excitement, violence, death … and some fun, too. πŸ˜‰

I am going to go collapse now. I am officially on a novel-writing sabbatical. Although, I will still blog and put up awful photos on Instagram, I have otherwise seen quite enough of a PC screen and keyboard for the time being!

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world.

And my deepest thanks again for your follows, support and interest. πŸ™‚

8 comments

  1. Dear Robert, well done! My congratulations!

    However…the phrase ‘I hope you will find it a worthwhile read’….no! To Author of your skill & experience! Never use it in your future books. You write amusing historical novels, wonderful fairy tales! And they’re certainly the best!

    Sorry, I didn’t intend to spoil your mood. I know you’ve done a great job. But you should be far more confident! The audience demands it!

    Do you know how my favourite author liked to write the preface? He usually started with ‘I have been a writer already for many centuries…’ Catchy, isn’t it?

    Best regards,

    Maria

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughts! 😊I do hope you find it a worthwhile read! I have learned that anything that smacks of “history” – even wrapped in romance – frightens people. Some need calm assurance there won’t be an exam at the end.πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome, dear Robert! Look, first of all a book represents yourself. Any hint of self-unconfidence ruins everything. Your true Readers will enjoy any writing of yours. For they respect you, they share your way of thinking. Point. Your writing is worthwhile simply because you can’t write 200 pages of something unworthwhile! With your experience! Good luck & happy Easter time!

        Best regards,
        Maria

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Any time,dear Robert. Sorry if I’m too strict, but I learn from my own critics. ))) I’m to publish my first book. So, what I have realized by now is: Writing is power & the writer leads his audience. Good luck to you!
            Blessings to your writing! )))

            Liked by 1 person

              1. That’s very kind of you, dear Robert! And that’s great that you’re so serious. By the way, do you know who is the best critic for you? Your mother-in-law! Don’t laugh. She will certainly point you to ‘holes’ in your writing to ponder & your antagonism towards her will reveal your true writing essence. πŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

