“Author Facebooking”

Posted by

I saw this on Instagram earlier this morning:

And it got me thinking that while there is “truth” in that, I have learned that the likes of “Facebooking” – for me it is more “Instagraming” – can be a stress breaker, too. One cannot work at one’s writing ALL of the time. You’ll become “isolated” and go bonkers.

It is necessary to blow off steam, have a laugh, and to think about something else now and then. Social media is one way to do so…

First page of the paperback version of Conventions: The Garden At Paris, my latest novel – which will be released at some point in the near future! Click to enlarge.

Because, for example, there are about 550 other Conventions pages much like that opening one in that coming novel. It became quite a tale full of a multitude of characters, locations and happenings. And I’m still correcting bits here and there!

So you need a break now and then. The danger in “Author Facebooking” is when it’s used to AVOID writing. Just as that is a danger to any of us: social media certainly should not dominate our lives or be allowed to interfere with our work.

* * *

Blogging is not the same to me as “Facebooking.” My site here is central in reaching out to readers. Indeed and reading others’ blogs has occasionally given me writing and character ideas. Following blogs also becomes a “habit.”

Many of you subscribe here and receive an email when I post. I too have a slew of bloggers I look forward to reading. In the past I have had a similar slew, but over time some have either moved from posting regularly to only very occasionally.

Or they have even just stopping and left their site essentially “abandoned,” leaving us with no idea why the blogger “vanished.” The reading “habit” is then broken and we go on to others.

Treat your followers as you yourself would like to be treated. It’s a good rule to live by on social media – as it is in “real life.” If at all possible, you don’t just walk off on your friends – and your followers are, in many respects, friends – without saying “goodbye.”

* * *

I am traveling tomorrow to a “surprise” destination. It came up on short notice. I will reveal here only that it is on the continent of Europe (not the UK or Ireland). I will share it with you after I arrive!

Ironically, it is referred to in Conventions – even though I have never been there.

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

3 comments

    1. Thank you! The book goes (I hope) well – I think.🤔📚Only my faithful readers can tell me for sure exactly how well (or not) after release.😘😀😕😠😱😜(Should be out this month.)😂🍸

      Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

