At The “Breakpoint”

Posted by

I don’t normally do more than one post a day. But the stark difference in the subject matter between this one and the previous one is such that I could not combine them. And I wanted to make sure I posted this as well.

Yesterday afternoon, unaware of what was going on “out there,” I had been working as usual. Also I took a break which included not only making a coffee, but listening to Soundcloud while doing so. Marion ClaviΓ© has a beautiful voice:

I read lots of “advice” on writing, and most of it is just common sense. However, one clichΓ© I have seen is not: the belief that a writer must always be writing and never needs a break.

Rubbish.

Screen capture of my Microsoft Surface doing whatever it is Windows does now and then.

People who say that: I don’t know how they do it. Assuming they actually do “live up” to that advice.

After all, whatever we are doing in life we all need to “recharge” now and then. If you as a writer honestly believe you can just “keep going” day in and day out, scribbling incessantly, no refreshers, you’ll probably fall on your literary face. In fact, you may even have a “nervous breakdown.”

We all do need to pause now and then. And that includes writers. It may be only for a few weeks or months, but you MUST get away from the keyboard and clear your head.

My latest manuscript last night went to a good friend who candidly told me she doesn’t think she’ll have the time to read it right now. But I kinda suspect she will perhaps have a peek. And I know she is reading this post, because she told me she reads this blog regularly – and has possibly even just read this!

As I emailed the novel to her, I realized I was also feeling worn out about the novel mentally. One may well need a “vacation” from writing. After Conventions is finally released, I’m going to force myself to have one.

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. Time to get back to work. While doing so, I think I’ll listen to Marion ClaviΓ© again πŸ™‚

3 comments

Further thoughts?

