Haste Ye Back (To Rothesay)

Posted by

On Monday, the Mrs. had airline business in Scotland, west of Glasgow. Somehow in all my years here, I’d managed never to have visited Scotland. So I joined her – and grabbed some photos over the three days there:

Specifically, we were in Rothesay, on the Isle of Bute:

It is central in Scottish history: Vikings, Scottish kings, sieges, more Vikings, the English, more kings, more sieges…

When I finally got into Rothesay Castle…

Side view of a portion of Rothesay Castle, from the street outside. [Photo by me, 2017.]

…I grabbed a selfie in the dining room – where Scottish kings once dined:

In personal terms, the beard filled out, but it’s coming off. I’m not a beard guy, really. My personal Facebook has been in a family uproar over it. 😉

Oh, and it’s quite a dining room:

Where kings once dined – they sat in front of the fireplace, under the royal standard. Rothesay Castle, Scotland. [Photo by me, 2017.]

Truly enjoyed the brief visit to the island. A colleague of my wife’s joked that I would be writing my next book about the Isle of Bute.

I’m unsure about that. I still have to finish the current one! Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

2 comments

Further thoughts?

