“There’s The Girl”

A bit of an “unserious” post at times. It’s Wednesday. A brief change of pace.

We sat through Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, on Sunday night.

I like science fiction. I like superheroes. I like being entertained.

But while watching too often I found myself asking: What the heck is going on?

The film is based on the characters from the famous comics, of course. As I watched, it dawned on me as well that lots of books today are also rooted in the supernatural or the essentially “unbelievable.” The number of indie authors alone who write fantasy – and often really good stuff, too – is enormous.

As you may know, I don’t write magic and the “unbelievable.” I would probably do an unintentionally hilarious job if I even tried. I confine myself to us all too vulnerable – and realistic – humans.

I’m also not particularly squeamish. However, as I sat through the film, it hit me once again how sci-fi/fantasy on screen currently seems based on the default template requiring slaughter on a gigantic and industrial scale. The murdering of the “faceless” has reached the point of absurd, and is now even “dull” and utterly predictable.

In turn, with Batman v Superman, we have yet another film with stars who are also essentially invulnerable gods, or at least god-like.

Yet with that combination, where exactly is any story tension? Even if it was supposed to be “cartoonish,” it struck me as much too intense – and far too long – for under 15s and especially under 13s. By the same token, as an adult viewer it was borderline laughable.

The only “highlight” to me was when…

***PLOT SPOILER ALERT! DO NOT READ ON IF YOU CARE!***

…Wonder Woman appeared.

img_1240

Surprise! Something! As the rock group Heart also sang thirty (Good grief, THIRTY!) years ago, “There’s The Girl.”

That Heart reference probably came to my mind because I have been listening to this recently, and that song is on here:



Anyway, back to Wonder Woman. No laughter about my observing her there, please. I mean it in this context: her appearance was actually sorta unexpected – about the only “surprise” in the film.

The film was full of excellent actors given nothing really to do but perhaps supply the human faces on a huge “video game.” They played off and were largely relegated to “second-tier” to all of the wow ’em computer-generated visuals and special effects mass carnage that are the norm today in action films. Special effects are supposed to enhance a story, not overwhelm it or attempt to conceal the lack of one.

Cut out the ridiculously overlong fight scenes and other tech-generated filler, and what little plot there was could probably have been produced in its entirety in less than 45 minutes on screen. A book that drags, or is overly and unnecessarily convoluted plot-wise, is likely to be put down unfinished by a reader. Yes, people do turn off even mediocre or poor films, but since watching films is a passive experience unlike reading, bad films, particularly action ones, are often stayed with to the conclusion in the simple hope the film has some ending that will SHOCK you.

And I stayed with all of Batman v Superman in that hope. All 146 minutes, and there was no real shocker. However, to end here on a positive note: it was Shakespeare compared to the onscreen nonsense passed off as “deep” filmmaking that was Mad Max: Fury Road.

Have a good Wednesday and Happy film-watching! ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on ““There’s The Girl”

Further thoughts?

