A Chilly English Winter Morning

I was writing yesterday late morning when I noticed no heat was on and the house had started to feel cool. Venturing downstairs from my office, I discovered the boiler was out. Next I saw gas workers outside.

National Grid to the rescue yesterday. [Photo by me, 2016.]
National Grid to the rescue yesterday. [Photo by me, 2016.]

There was a gas problem on the high street and National Grid had turned up with what seemed like a dozen vehicles. They’d had to shut off service to quite a few houses. Water from a burst pipe up the road earlier somehow got into the main gas pipe.

“Uh, not good,” one of the workers told me.

“So this is the water company’s fault,” I laughed.

He smiled. “Yeh, we are always blaming each other for whatever goes wrong.”

So we had a cool day. They finally got things back on about 8:45pm. Good thing we had the fireplace.


I had woken up raring to go. Before the gas main problem interrupted my day, I had been having another decent writing spell. I have managed now to get Conventions pretty much “completed.” Don’t get me wrong: there’s still plenty of filling in to do, and editing; but no longer are there parts I have “skipped” over. While it’s still “thin” in spots, it is now a start to finish – and rather long already – whole novel.

The reality of that hitting me suddenly caused my life to flash before my eyes. I was indeed going to finish this novel. My god, I thought for a moment, what do I write next?

Because the next book is always on your mind as you are approaching the end of the current one.

I have an idea of what the next may be, but I’m getting WAY OUT ahead of myself there, of course. By coincidence, my former neighbors down in Christchurch Facetimed with me yesterday afternoon, asking more about this one. I finally said to the Mrs. (who always reads my novels pre-publication), “When you see it, you may think, ‘Robert’s lost his mind.’ I haven’t. But when I’m really big, I promise I’ll remember you.”

I want you to know that as well. I have had a bunch of new followers in recent days, and if you are one you are here just in time. I promise I will remember all of you, too.

Because “big stars” always have a hard time trusting those who latch onto them after they’ve hit it big. Don’t they? But I know I’ll always have had you here – who follow me now, before I’d hit the really big time.πŸ˜‚


And to put the finishing touch on yesterday, it actually snowed (a little bit). Oh, and the heat went out again overnight. We’ve awoken to a decidedly chilly house this morning and National Grid is on its way once more!πŸ˜œβ„οΈπŸŒ¨πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§

Have a jolly good weekend!πŸ˜€

______
UPDATE, January 14:

It was a bit of a struggle during the day yesterday (Friday):



But they fixed it eventually. Heating has been on since mid-afternoon yesterday!:



Yes, happy weekend, wherever you are!

Further thoughts?

