Message For “The Elite”

I’m home again in England from America. (As you probably know, I was born in New York.) We had a busy Christmas, with a small mob from this side of the Atlantic flying over to stay with us in the Catskills. It feels kinda odd being back here:

Heathrow Airport, Terminal 5, arrivals concourse yesterday morning. [Photo by me, 2017.]
Heathrow Airport, Terminal 5, arrivals concourse yesterday morning. [Photo by me, 2017.]

Fighting jet lag, in trying to force myself to stay awake last night I went through my Instagram feed slowly. What did I miss while flying? I checked up on what had been “going on” while I had been traveling and out of contact with you “guys.”

I don’t aim to attract thousands of Instagram followers. I know that is unrealistic. First, I’m a historical romance novelist: I’m neither Rob Lowe or Tom Hanks, nor an attractive woman. Second, I post what amuses me related to traveling and my writing, and which I think my small – but elite! – number of friends might also find amusing because we have gotten to “know” each other pretty well.

Many of you have found me on Instagram due to following me here. And we probably follow each other over there now, too. Quality, not quantity, is my Instagram motto.

For example, I saw that some of you “liked” this picture:



As I scrolled down and also had a look at others’ photos, I decided to have something of a “purge.” I simply thought I’d freshen things up a bit for the new year. I unfollowed about a dozen people I’d followed for months who never followed me back, but most importantly they had never interacted with me.

I don’t follow on Instagram expecting always to be followed back. But social media is not about being a statue, it’s supposed to be “social.” I also followed about a dozen new people who seem pretty interesting – travelers, photographers, writers, poets – and will stick with them for a while to see if any of them become “friends” also.

I got no reaction from anyone I’d unfollowed – except for one. I had followed her early on (I joined only in April) when I was still new at it and looking for people to follow and she had liked one of my photos. She had seemed genuine and didn’t have a massive following of her own by Instagram standards. (It’s still about only 1,600 or so, which is oddly low considering who she is.) But as I had recently been feeling “inundated” by photos overall, and she had never followed me back, and most importantly she had never interacted since that first “like,” as part of my “purge” I unfollowed her figuring she wouldn’t even really notice or care.

Apparently she did notice and did care. Only a minute or so after I’d unfollowed, she “liked” one of my recent posts. Quickly I realized she must have used one of those “find out who unfollows you” apps and was perhaps trying to “keep” me.

She still hadn’t followed me back. But I got what she must have been up to. Pushover that I am at times, I thought, “Okay, fine, I’ll follow you again (for a while at least).”

Chasing followers and popularity: Instagram can feel at times like high school.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚



I’m happy my enforced writing holiday pause has ended.πŸ“šβœοΈBack again to the late 18th century – revolutions, killing, love, impossible love, and lots more.πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§πŸ‡«πŸ‡·πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈSomehow, it all feels just a bit “safer” there.😜

Have a good weekend.😊

Further thoughts?

