First Class Christmas

Posted by

For Christmas, we flew to Newark yesterday from Heathrow. We decided to make this trip special.


We used Avios (BA air miles) and went first class. I grabbed that photo above in the Concorde lounge “outside” deck at Heathrow. And naturally, as we all do nowadays, I put it on Instagram.

Awaiting takeoff, and in flight, I took some more photos:

Champagne at the seat. (Photo by me, 2016.)
Champagne at the seat. (Photo by me, 2016.)

I had only one glass of alcohol for the flight. Before take-off. I was driving on the other end.

The window seat across aisle - empty for the flight. (Photo by me, 2016.)
The window seat across aisle – empty for the flight. (Photo by me, 2016.)

We have traveled first class before (on another “freebie”) as well as business class regularly (either on “freebies” or because a business was paying).

The most “famous” person I’ve ever encountered so far is probably Martina Navratilova. That was in business class. She was sitting a row over at a window.

I’ve not yet seen a “famous” person in first class.

Dinner menu. (Photo by me, 2016.)
Dinner menu. (Photo by me, 2016.)
After take off. On the way. (Photo by me, 2016.)
After take off. On the way. (Photo by me, 2016.)
Matt Damon, beating and killing people, and himself being beaten up and asking for two hours, "Who am I?" (Photo by me, 2016.)
Matt Damon, beating and killing people, and himself being beaten up and asking for two hours, “Who am I?” (Photo by me, 2016.)

Jason Bourne. I’m being serious here. There’s very little actual extended dialogue in the film.

Tons of knowing looks, and intensely looking at and reading computer screens out loud (“The asset is moving left now…”), and blowing things up. And Matt Damon being bloodied and looking serious. Or killing someone. Or someone is being killed. Or rioting. And car crashes. And that I think was all in the first half hour.

And some guy who owns a social media company and the Agency is after him. And some rogue agent who’d been in Aleppo. And Tommy Lee Jones sneering and/or smirking. And more blowing things up. And something about Beirut in the 1990s. And lots of hazy recollections…

Frankly, as I try to recall it as I write this, the film itself is pretty much a blur, too.

And here we are, fellow writers, fretting over and fussing over sentences, complex paragraphs and always searching for that “perfect” word? I had my iPad out for a while editing some of Conventions. Suddenly, I thought: Why do we bother?πŸ˜‚

But I did actually watch the whole film. So it must have at least held my attention.😜

Seat selfie. (2016.)
Seat selfie. (2016.)

We’re at my dad’s this morning. Catskills at last later. Have a good day, wherever you are in the world.πŸ˜€

2 comments

Further thoughts?

