A Fourth Writing December

Posted by

Another Monday is upon us. His Oxford term now finished, we had my nephew stay over for a couple of nights. He flies off today to Vienna for a few days to visit friends there.

Aircraft contrails over Hertfordshire, England yesterday. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Aircraft contrails over Hertfordshire, England yesterday. [Photo by me, 2016.]
While he was here in Hertfordshire, of course we fed him:

Desserts. Sicilian tart, French Madagascar cream, and Spanish wine. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Dessert. Sicilian tart, French Madagascar cream, and Spanish wine.
[Photo by me, 2016.]

And I ate as well. 😉

This December seems odd to me. Unlike 2013, 2014, and 2015, I have no new novel out this Christmas-time. That fact leaves me feeling somewhat empty and even a bit strange.

Setting achievable goals is vital in writing. I had previously always aimed for “12 months” (from first words on the pages to completion), and this is the first time I have had to give on that target. I do hope, though, that when this one is indeed out (I hope by May 1) that it will more than prove worth the slightly longer wait:

Sneak Peek from "Conventions." Click to expand.
Sneak Peek from “Conventions.” Click to expand.

That “1791” Paris conversation is partly inspired by one I’d had in my mid-twenties with a friend who’d announced to me that he’d recently caught the eye of the woman of his dreams and he couldn’t believe it. (Naturally, of course we didn’t speak in “eighteenth century American” about it.) I remember him going on and on and on and on about her, but after what seemed like 15 minutes somehow he hadn’t gotten around to telling me her name. I finally had to ask him.

Additionally, briefly to a related matter that has blazed across the headlines in recent months. That excerpt provides me a ready example enabling me to address it. Particularly if you are a woman, allow me to share this insight.

When you are not in the room, yes, we men of course discuss you. That I am sure is no surprise to you. However, despite what you may have also heard, read, and been told by others in recent months, there are men, between each other and in private, who do speak about you respectfully, appreciatively, and with a sense of awe.

Have a good Monday, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

Further thoughts?

