In The Eye Of The Beholder

Posted by

One of those year-end lists is out. I’d not heard of this one before. Clearly the title is meant to grab your attention – and it did mine.

BuzzFeed has 32 – I won’t even hazard a guess as to why that odd number is chosen – of the “most beautiful book covers of 2016”:

Screen capture of BuzzFeed.
Screen capture of BuzzFeed.

Do judge these books by their covers?

I’m underwhelmed.

Indeed, how about understated? Or thought-provoking? Or ambiguous? Or being coy (about the book’s contents)? Or (semi)clever(ish)? Or a Rorschach test?

Those are thoughts that popped into my mind while scrolling down.

We have all heard the expression “beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” But still. Those 32 covers?

If the word “beautiful” had not been forced into my consciousness by the BuzzFeed title, I do not believe I would have looked at ANY of those covers and independently thought, “Wow, this is beautiful book cover.”

Just my humble opinion.

Overlooking Lake George, New York. [Photo by me, 2013.]
Overlooking Lake George, New York. [Photo by me, 2013.]

In any event, may your day be “beautiful,” wherever you are in our world. 🙂

One comment

  1. Well. Ahem. Hm.

    Many of those 32 covers are downright amateurish. If an Indie Author had produced them, said Indie’s taste and talent would be excoriated and execrated, and the author would be sternly advised to “hire a professional.”

    I think I can see what some of those artists were trying to do, but on the basis of those covers, I’m not the least bit enticed to open any of them.

    I’m with you.

    Meh.

    Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

