“Dear Charlotte”

Posted by

My 19 year old niece is at Queen’s University in Belfast, Northern Ireland. She would like to write LETTERS! Younger people these days…

In 2016, starting an actual LETTER. [Photo by me.]
In 2016, starting an actual LETTER. [Photo by me.]
I posted that to Instagram yesterday as I began it (and I have since moved on somewhat). Why? Because it dawned on me that it’s hilarious.

It’s terrible – which as you see I admit to her immediately. My handwriting? What’s happened to it?

Lack of practice, that’s what. Too much time at a keyboard and not enough time writing with a pen.

I suspected it would be a “challenge.”

It’s also somewhat depressing. There was a time I could little problem quickly write out a letter of 3-4 pages. But that’s what you had to do back in “those days,” of course…

Excerpt from
Excerpt from “Frontiers.” Click to expand.

Anyway, we’re flying over to see her this weekend. Easier than driving. Or 18th century horse-drawn carriage followed by sailing ship, followed by another horse-drawn carriage…

The Way To Belfast. [Screen capture of the Google ways there.]
The Way To Belfast. [Screen capture of the Google ways there.]
It will be my first trip ever to Northern Ireland. I’ll surprise her with the letter next week. I’ll post it to her from home after we get back here to Hertfordshire.

It may take me that long just to write it. 😉

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

6 comments

Further thoughts?

