It’s “Official”: I Hate iOS10

I know it does not matter what someone like me says about something like this. And I know I wrote “nice” things about iPhones yesterday morning. And I do like my iPad and my “old” iPhone.

But I want to “note” this regardless. Yesterday afternoon I had a technology horror that, frankly, I have not had the likes of in a very long, long, long time. Immediately after, I did what we do nowadays at moments like that: I vented on Twitter:

Screen capture of Twitter.
Screen capture of Twitter.

What happened was this. I often use Notes on my always within reach iPad or iPhone for, well, “writing brainstorms” for my manuscripts. Sometimes, they are lengthy “notes.”

An idea hit me and I decided to scribble it down quickly on my iPad and move it to Word on my Microsoft Surface later as usual. This one was a Conventions chapter involving “Carolina,” “Robert” and “Henry” here in England; and I was really pleased with it as I tapped away for the better part of an hour. It was (I felt) funny and sharp.

Caught up in writing the scene, I had forgotten what I had experienced in recent days on the iPad with email and other apps since the iOS10 “upgrade”. I can put up with the awkward “Press Home” rather than “Swipe to Unlock.” (That’s just internalizing a new “habit.”) I can even tolerate that the device has slowed down substantially after I do put in my passcode after I “Press Home.” (I can seemingly count to “5” at times before the apps finally appear on the screen.)

Screen capture of my iPad "Locked" screen. It's a wintry photo looking down our driveway in the Catskills. [Photo by me.]
Screen capture of my iPad “Locked” screen. It’s a wintry photo looking down our driveway in the Catskills. [Photo by me.]

But this is unacceptable in the extreme: apps have taken to crashing unexpectedly. They don’t always, but they may just close suddenly with no warning and for no discernable reasons I can identify. It’s not just me either: my wife has found that since iOS10 got shoved down our throats the same thing happens on her iPad as well.

Just as I was finishing what I was writing in Notes… Well, eh, guess what? Notes crashed: it simply closed as I was backspacing or something.

Suddenly I remembered! Frantically, I checked my iPhone to see if what I’d written (it was probably 3-4 pages equivalent in Word) might have miraculously been saved via wifi to the iPhone’s Notes. Nope, no such luck.

Every line I had written had vanished. Lost forever was over an hour’s creative work that I would never write again precisely the same way. I sat there devastated: I had not felt so double-crossed and “s*rewed” in years in tech terms.

Screen capture of the iPad's "Notes" app.
Screen capture of the iPad’s “Notes” app.

I was also livid. I recalled how one of Apple’s premier bragging points over the years had been its claims about its products’ operational stability. They were, Apple proudly told us, NOT unreliable, quirky, creaky, unpredictable “crash-happy” Windows-based PCs. No terrifying “blue screen” on an Apple device, no sir. No “Fatal Error x2tehesss5329216a: Program Shutting down: Contact Your Administrator” awful dialogue box popping up and ruining our day.

No more. The iPad is now just as untrustworthy as old Windows PCs used to be. One supposes that’s “progress?” Yet we don’t even get a crash-warning box?

In fact, the iPad is worse now than Windows latest. I’ve written three novels (or parts of novels) on my Microsoft Surface Pro 3 tablet (that doubles as a PC) and it has never once crashed on me and wiped my work as the iPad did to me yesterday. Maybe I’m tempting fate, true, but it is the truth up to now: I repeat: that has NEVER happened on the Surface.

I’d done nothing differently with my iPad SINCE the iOS10 update that I did not do PRIOR to it. I had NEVER before had a stability problem in the wake of previous iPad software updates. The bottom line is I now no longer trust my iPad as I did.

I will certainly not use it now in that “carefree” fashion feeling it will “never” crash like that. Absolutely I will not rely on it until “the problem” – whatever the hell it is – gets fixed. If you have experienced anything similar in any app since the iOS10 “upgrade,” I recommend in the strongest of terms that you do the same and take nothing for granted.

Oh, and using the Surface I managed to rewrite from memory (after I’d calmed down) “most” of what I’d lost an hour or so earlier. Some of it might even be better; but I’m sure some is not quite as good either. No matter what, it’s not “quite” the same as the original. I hate feeling that way about my work.

But today is another day. We have to learn from our “mistakes” and move on. Have a good day wherever you are. ๐Ÿ™‚

______
UPDATE: September 24: Well, look what I just found awaiting download:

Screen capture of my iPad.
Screen capture of my iPad.

Not exactly my problem, but they’re trying to sort out the stupid problems nonetheless.

6 thoughts on “It’s “Official”: I Hate iOS10

    • R. J. Nello September 23, 2016 / 5:29 pm

      Thanks for that info. But I have a relatively new iPad, super-fast fibre internet, and a wifi hub that is about 2 months old. If my hardware and wifi settings are “the excuse,” I’m not inclined to buy anything “new” by Apple for the time being. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  1. manfromatlan September 24, 2016 / 1:45 am

    Looks like even new hardware owners are having that problem (first link) so yeah, it’s IOS 10. Do you have an option to revert to a previous version? Have a tech do that to be safe.

    Like

    • R. J. Nello September 24, 2016 / 7:13 am

      I could look to revert, I suppose; but that requires me to use the (old version on the) awful iTunes on our PC when I get over to the States. (How Apple has gotten away with its creaky and frustrating iTunes all these years is beyond me.) A Google+ commenter of mine noted Steve Jobs is dead. And that’s precisely it. Apple products were supposed to be always on, stable, and not require restarting and masses of patches and workarounds like PCs. Oh, well, guess that iShip has now sailed.

      Like

      • manfromatlan September 24, 2016 / 2:32 pm

        Try something, RJ. Put your iPad into airplane mode; see if you can access Notes. Your original work might be there.

        Liked by 1 person

        • R. J. Nello September 24, 2016 / 3:10 pm

          Thanks for that. I’ve searched already. I tried that, too. It’s not been saved.

          Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

