In The Shadow Of Windsor

Posted by

Friday night we went to an, uh, fiftieth birthday party at a hotel two minutes’ walk around from Windsor Castle:

The Queen Victoria statue in front of Windsor Castle. [Photo by me, 2016.]
The Queen Victoria statue in front of Windsor Castle. [Photo by me, 2016.]

The castle is along the edge of Windsor. I’d never been to Windsor or so close to the castle before.

I’ve only been living in the UK for some 17 years and did not realize it was quite so close to the edge of the town:

View of Windsor Castle in the distance, from pedestrianized Peascod Street, Windsor. [Photo by me, 2016.]
View of Windsor Castle in the distance, from pedestrianized Peascod Street, Windsor. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Unfortunately, though, Liz and Phil couldn’t make it to the party. 😉

Seeing the castle led me to recall my mother, who earlier in the day had been much more on my mind than usual. It’s now nearly a year since we lost both her and my uncle: sister and brother dying exactly two weeks apart.

They were a pair. She was one of those Americans who happened to be interested in the British royals. My uncle also loved to press her buttons about anything and everything; and she would “counterpunch.” Their “exchanges of ideas” were the stuff of “family legend”:

Excerpt from "Passports." Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Passports.” Click to expand.

As I noted the other day, authors may find material from life and then give it life forever.

Hope you’ve been having a good weekend. 🙂

One comment

  1. I just finished reading Showdown At Shepherd’s Bush- The 1908 Olympic Marathon and the Three Runners Who Launched a Sporting Craze https://www.amazon.com/Showdown-Shepherds-Bush-Marathon-Launched/dp/0312641001/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_img_10?ie=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=617BN8BEW56DH8NDHDF5 The race began at Windsor Castle from inside the gate in your picture, went by by Victoria’s statue, and ended up at Shepherd’s Bush stadium, my old home in London. Awesome book about modern day athletics.

    Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

