Alone Again In Hertfordshire (But Not Really Alone)

The wife is off to Lisbon for two days again for work. I got back a little while ago from dropping her off at the airport. So I’m home alone… with the British spiders:

Photo of a small spider (well, maybe not that small) hanging outside my home office window the other night. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Photo of a small spider (well, maybe not that small) hanging outside my home office window the other night. [Photo by me, 2016.]

It’s been reported here and there in media that British homes are facing an incursion this autumn of LARGE spiders (as mating season begins). We spotted one walking down the fireplace the other day, and WOW you could’ve put a lead on it and named it. Yesterday, I found another potential “pet” in the small rubbish bin in the lounge… and was I glad I found it before my wife did. (A happening which she did not know about until she reads this post. 3,2,1…)

I’ve got plenty to do writing-wise, of course. (And, no, not only in researching what the likes of “Carolina” and “Marie-ThΓ©rΓ¨se” are wearing in “1787.”) Any writer who claims he or she has “nothing to do” is not doing it right. Also, a new shower stall is going in on Thursday – so there will be workers in the house for a while.

And there’s always social media. We are never really ALONE any longer. I have notifications for WordPress, Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Google+ and Tumblr. If you are like me, you know “maintaining” your social media borders on a “24-7” effort.

My "dated" iPhone 4, in my office, the other day. [Photo by me, 2016.]
My “dated” iPhone 4, in my office, the other day. [Photo by me, 2016.]

I usually leave my (“old”) phone on overnight despite the occasional “buzz” at odd (UK) hours. Mostly, I don’t notice. However, last night, amidst the usual, about 1 AM I was awoken by a series of “buzzes” close together.

There were so many I figured I must be in trouble. (I wondered who I’d annoyed somehow?) Instead I found lots of “likes” and new followers when I checked in the morning. Nice. (And hello!)

Still pretty new to Instagram, I’m finding it’s amusing. As I do, most people I follow treat it mostly lightly – photos of their dogs and cats, their breakfasts (to be clear, not usually the dogs’ and cats’ breakfasts, but their own), and themselves doing silly things on holiday, striking dramatic poses in front of landmarks, or making weird faces and posting them for the world to see, etc., and so on.

You know what I mean. A stress buster. I definitely follow the right types of people. πŸ™‚

And I want to mention this about another person worth “following” (although she’s not on Instagram). This is a new friend, Tracey. She’s a poet who lives in Cambridge. If you enjoy poetry, you may enjoy this:

Screen capture of Amazon.co.uk.
Screen capture of Amazon.co.uk.

Just wanted to let you know. I also receive a small acknowledgement in it, which was very kind of her.

Have a good day, wherever you are. πŸ™‚

______
UPDATE: Much as I was saying above: talented writer Adele Archer and her cat on Instagram today.

However, yes, I do admit there’s no sign of breakfast in the photograph. πŸ˜‰

Further thoughts?

