“A black statue of a bird”

Yesterday was, I know, not the type of post you expect here. It’s Saturday. Let’s smile.

Okay, I want you to name a classic film….

In the hallway, outside my office. A writing inspiration. [Photo by me, 2016.]
In the hallway, outside my home office. A writing motivation. [Photo by me, 2016.]

…No, no, hang on, not that one. Come on, I mean the title is right there! What kind of “challenge” is that?

It isn’t one, of course. However, that photo above also provides a pretty big hint I think; but I bet you probably don’t need it. I’m sure you know the name of the unnamed movie plainly alluded to here:

Excerpt from "Distances." Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Distances.” Click to expand.

We must always have laughter in our lives. And we need our friendships. In the toughest times, both will help us get through.

And we should take the time to watch good films. And we should read good books, too. And if you are so inclined you should try to write one of the latter as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰

A college chum of mine and his wife – I’ve now known him thirty (gasp!) years – have been touring England. (Last saw him in London in 2014.) They’re flying back to the U.S. – they live in Alaska – on Monday, and are taking the train out from London this morning to join us here at our house in Hertfordshire for lunch.

When I first met him in our dorm, I NEVER would have imagined that, in 2016, we’d be doing this….

Thus can be life….

Have a good weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on ““A black statue of a bird”

    • R. J. Nello September 10, 2016 / 8:26 pm

      A fantastic film. The private detective film of private detective films. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • manfromatlan September 10, 2016 / 9:37 pm

        “Vertigo” was kinda nice too but James Stewart, Jack Nicholson (Chinatown) were all channelling Sam Spade. The Mike Hammer novels too ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

