“Bonjour” From Soulac-sur-Mer

Posted by

Well, we’re here: Soulac-sur-Mer, north of Bordeaux, on the coast:

View from our rental house in Soulac-sur-mer, out over the beach to the Bay of Biscay. [Photo by me, 2016.]
View from our rental house in Soulac-sur-Mer, out over the beach to the Bay of Biscay. [Photo by me, 2016.]

The drive up here from the airport vaguely reminded me of Florida – flat and sandy. Brittany is not like this.

Notre-Dame-de-la-Fin-des-Terres Basilica in Soulac-sur-Mer. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Notre-Dame-de-la-Fin-des-Terres Basilica in Soulac-sur-Mer. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Our lunch yesterday. Yes, a bit of a caricature, we knew:

Lunch at our house yesterday. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Lunch at our house yesterday. [Photo by me, 2016.]

We went out to dinner last night at a pleasant, small restaurant in the town center….

“Terminรฉ?” she asked me with a smile.

“Oui, merci,” I replied as she leaned across me and cleared away my empty dessert plate.

After the twenty-something server walked off, my wife grinned across at me with that look I often get from her in France.

“Okay, what?” I questioned. But I sensed exactly what.

“That lingering, long smile from her,” she observed.

“She’s getting paid,” I replied. “She does that because she has to.”

“The whole meal, she’s not smiling and bouncing her head at me like that,” my wife came back. “Or chattering to me [in French] like she is to you. And you chattering back.”

“I’m being polite,” I laughed.

I will admit here that she did remind me of a friend I knew two decades ago, when we were around that age.

“Okay, see if you can attract her attention again in a minute and get the bill,” my wife replied. “Oh, wait, you shouldn’t have trouble doing that,” she chuckled.

“Look, stop. That me was a different me a long time ago,” I made clear once more.

“Uh, huh, you always say that, but I see what you are here now,” my wife giggled.

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. And in Britain, a great Bank Holiday Monday. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 comments

  1. Nice post! Your wife is more understanding than mine – I may have been stabbed with a butter knife! I am dying to get to French wine country. We live in Napa Valley, California and surely have good wine here. But there’s something about France, well, you know. Check out our wine country blog at http://www.topochinesvino.com and follow us if you like what you see.

    Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

