Through Ayot St. Lawrence

We took a (longish) walk yesterday from the new house over to the historical village of Ayot St. Lawrence:

Yet another two-way English country road. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Yet another two-way English country road. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Some of the country roads in the UK are hilarious. That takes two-way vehicle traffic.

And notice the dotted line vanishes: that’s the end of the “wide” stretch.

Hertfordshire countryside. [Photo by me, 2016]
Hertfordshire countryside. [Photo by me, 2016]
A summer day – when it’s sunny and warm; but not too hot – is second to none here.

Plaque outside the original parish church, 1150 AD. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Plaque outside the original parish church, 1150 AD. [Photo by me, 2016.]
A bit of history.

The ruins of the original parish church, 1150 AD. In the 19th century a new church was built. [Photo by me, 2016.]
The ruins of the original parish church, 1150 AD. In the 18th century a new church was built. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Just your average thousand year old, ruined church in the neighborhood.

The new(er) church (not pictured; it’s away from here) was built in the eighteenth century. (The 1700s.)

Of course the eighteenth century!

Outside author/playwright Bernard Shaw's house. He owned the property from 1906 until his death in 1950. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Outside author/playwright Bernard Shaw’s house. He owned the property from 1906 until his death in 1950. [Photo by me, 2016.]
A rather famous gentleman lived here for many years, in a house just behind that sign and wall.

A well-dressed local. [Photo by me, 2016.]
A well-dressed local. [Photo by me, 2016.]
The locals are pleasant types as well, and eager to engage with visitors wandering through. πŸ˜‰

Have a good Monday, wherever you are in the world. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Through Ayot St. Lawrence

  1. Susan August 1, 2016 / 3:32 pm

    Very nice. It would be very interesting to see the home where George Bernard Shaw lived.

    Liked by 1 person

    • R. J. Nello August 1, 2016 / 7:23 pm

      We didn’t walk around the front entrance as we were at the end of a LONG walk. We fully intend to go inside and make a proper visit of it in the near future. I hope I’ll get more pics then!

      Like

Further thoughts?

