From The 17th Century Roof Space

Posted by

Well, I got through sorting out all of the major furniture. Everything makes some “sense” now in the new house. All that remains are boxes here and there – and there are still quite a few.

But the weekend is approaching, and it is starting to look like our home. Having again had enough of unpacking late yesterday (and while the Mrs. was once more away in Lisbon on business for two nights), I decided to pull out the DVD of all DVDs: Casablanca. (I know, I’m a devil when home alone!)

Photo of a scene in Casablanca on DVD. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Photo of a scene in Casablanca on DVD. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Sadly, the film is now truly “history.” Madeleine Lebeau,ย the last surviving credited cast member, died on May 1. She was 92.

Before I was able to sit and re-watch the film, an hour or two earlier, up the steep, narrow staircase….

From the top of the stairs, outside my new office. [Photo by me, 2016.]
From the top of the stairs, outside my new office. [Photo by me, 2016.]

….that leads to my new office, in it I’d finally put together my desk once more:

The desk, in one piece once again. [Photo by me, 2016.]
The desk, in one piece once again. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Hopefully, I will be back to “normal” on here next week. Moreover I’ve not written a thing in over a week. That’s a bit too long.

The upside is a short break does give you “fresh” eyes. You return to what you’d written and, re-reading, may think, “Ooh, I quite like that.” Or perhaps you despair, “Good grief, what the heck was I thinking? That’s gotta go…”

Have a good weekend, wherever you are. ๐Ÿ™‚

Further thoughts?

