At The Height Of A British Summer

Posted by

I tore through a mass of unpacking yesterday, got the washing machine in place, mowed the (small) lawn, and generally attacked whatever else I could think of. Yet there still seems so much to do. You probably know the feeling: in any house move, all you see is what is left to be accomplished!

What still awaits. The unpacking continues. [Photo by me, 2016.]
What still awaits. The unpacking continues. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Leave it to us to move as well over the hottest days of the year here. Don’t be fooled, it can get very hot here. And I shouldn’t complain: at least it wasn’t raining!

I spoke to Dad in Pennsylvania yesterday, too. He said they’ve been burned to a crisp in recent days, as has much of the U.S. Northeast. (He’s effectively in New York City’s western outer – really “outer” – suburbs. Ah, downstate New York summers. They are a humid horror, especially at night – which, pre-air conditioning, is why city residents in the last hundred or so years sought to get away in July and August to the cool of the upstate Catskill Mountains. You could at least sleep!)

Being a brick/stone cottage, though, our new house here is surprisingly cool temperature-wise.

From the main staircase to the attic conversion. Up the tiny steps will be my office. [Photo by me, 2016.]
From the main staircase to the attic conversion. Up the tiny steps will be my office. [Photo by me, 2016.]

I still can’t believe it: a 1600s place. I love this stuff. I’m wondering, too, what another “Robert” might think of it? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Right now, we have no television. It could well stay that way for several weeks. It’s increasingly appearing that the roof aerial may itself have also been erected in “the 1600s.”

That latter is not a bad thing currently, of course. I’ve got mobile Internet (as you can tell). And given the state of our world of late, probably better not to watch TV and instead maybe pull out some DVDs – and, in the days to come, try to get back to writing.

Okay, time for more unpacking. Have a good day! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments

    1. They carpeted some really tight stairs, and at the top you can barely turn. They are half-size doorways. Couldn’t get much actually furniture up there. Good thing the desk is in pieces!

      Like

Further thoughts?

