What We Picture In Our Mind’s Eye

Posted by

Well, it’s another July 14 – all day. You know what that means today is? It’s Bastille Day:

French wine. [Photo by me, 2016.]
French wine. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Last year, I posted photographs I’d taken at the Paris parade in 1995:

The Bastille Day parade, July 1995. [Photo by me, 1995.]
The Bastille Day parade, July 1995. [Photo by me, 1995.]

For this year, let’s have a bit of a “stereotypical” chuckle perhaps:

Excerpt from "Passports," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

Such hardly applies only to France, of course. Speaking of other national stereotypes, Mrs. Nello was on a business trip to Portugal over Tuesday and Wednesday. Returning last night, she told me with a laugh that while there one of her colleagues had said that an Italian woman in the office had heard our surname. The woman had said to him that she wanted to meet my wife – she was curious what part of Italy my wife was from, etc….

“Uh,” the man (who happened to be Indian), told the woman, “she’s not here right now. But I don’t think she’s Italian,” he smiled knowingly.

My Mrs., you see, is a very light-skinned, freckled, red-head, who (I once joked) could have been featured on a “Visit Ireland” tourist ad. And she’s English. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

Further thoughts?

