“In My Life”

Posted by

We’re off later to see what will be our latest house starting on Friday. Another moving week ahead.

As I told my dad the other day on FaceTime, “It’s in Hertfordshire, which is pronounced Hartfordsheer.”

“Is that near Midsomer?” he joked.

“No, that’s a few counties over,” I laughed.

It’s a High Street village cottage. (“High Street” is British for “Main Street.”) It has been modernized inside, and there’s an extension that was added at some point making it larger. However, the core is a 17th century “listed building” – meaning it’s “historic” and cannot be structurally altered without local government permission.

So it should be an excellent environment for writing an 18th century novel. 😉 I intend to do some research about it and the village once we’re in. I’ll see if I can perhaps fit both into the book.

“Did Cromwell ever drop in?” he kept on.

“It’s not far off the A1(M),” I said, “so it’s possible he rode through there at some point. It’s also next door to a small pub.”

“Well, you’ll have to go in there and investigate that.”

“I fully intend to.”

Today, we’re headed up there again to measure some rooms, etc. So it will be a relaxing day – the “moving hysteria” happens in days to come. Oh, and speaking of the “historical,” last night I was having a listen to some “ancient” music:

Screen capture of my iPad.
Screen capture of my iPad.

It is still the best pop album ever made. That fact is simply not up for debate. Don’t even try. 😉

Have a good day, wherever you are in our world. 🙂

One comment

Further thoughts?

