Stop: Don’t Throw The PC Out The Window

We spent the weekend down in Christchurch….

View towards Christchurch Priory. Christchurch, England. [Photo by me, 2011.]
View towards Christchurch Priory. Christchurch, England. [Photo by me, 2011.]

….visiting with the couple – our former neighbors there, where we used to live – who had generously lent us their flat in Tenerife back in the spring. They are also the inspiration for “Mrs and Mr Hall-Surrey” in the Atlantic Lives novels. And they know they are – and were such good sports about it when they discovered it.

If you write, you have experiences like these, too. Every new book comes with its challenges. Conventions is stacking up as no different.

In recent weeks, at a couple of points I’d tied myself up in plot knots: what a mess. I had also not developed a couple of characters in the ways I had hoped. And I wanted another character to have a “larger role” than envisaged for her initially.

However, after three books, I’ve learned: answers do reveal themselves eventually.

Champagne and French wine, to celebrate U.S. Independence Day. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Champagne and French wine, to celebrate U.S. Independence Day. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Back here in London yesterday, the Fourth of July holiday smashed my mental logjam. And from that new idea came another idea. And another….

It was a minor avalanche encompassing several chapters. Following my late uncle’s example, “What are we going to do today?” is what I “ask” of the characters when I start a day’s work. With only one set of typing hands, and those new ideas in my head, yesterday (once again) I felt I couldn’t get “their doings” down on the pages quickly enough.

Thus fiction writing. Throwing the Microsoft Surface out the window and giving up on an entire manuscript is almost never the way to go. You can usually pull yourself out of any self-imposed creative problem if you think on it enough.

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Stop: Don’t Throw The PC Out The Window

  1. Susan July 5, 2016 / 5:44 pm

    Perhaps I needed to read this today. I was very diligent with my creative writing over the weekend. I wrote a short story and felt very pleased with it. Most of my attempts at a short story in recent years have turned either into a novel or an unfinished novel. One of my preview readers was confused by my surprise ending and then refused to tell me how, and my mood and sense of accomplishment plummeted.

    Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

