“Remove your hands from my wife….”

Posted by

If I have some “overarching theme” to my novels, I admit it’s that I wish everyone, all of us, always could somehow manage to be on “the same side.” I know that’s wishful thinking. But it’s a hope nevertheless.

What’s writing for if not for occasionally wishful thinking?

A view down to the Batavia Kill, Catskills. [Photo by me, 2016.]
A view down to the Batavia Kill, Catskills. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Yesterday, after having been out and about, and alone here at the house in the Catskills, I decided to tackle a bit more writing. Other than dipping into the net now and then, and Twitter, I’ve read little news in recent days. (There’s no television currently working in the house.) This morning, I had another post all ready, when it hit me as to what I’d been working on yesterday and how it could be “seen” in 2016.

Some writers employ the craft to fictionalize real people and events. (I have done that as you may know.) Another approach is to employ characters as stand-ins for political/social posturing, with the authorโ€™s aim being to make some โ€œsubtleโ€ (or maybe less than “subtle”) point to readers. Well, I want you to know absolutely that THIS in the Conventions manuscript is in no way an allusion to, or a metaphor, revealing my “under the surface” view on the vote taking place in the United Kingdom tomorrow:

Sneak Peek into  "Conventions." Click to expand.
Sneak Peek into “Conventions.” Click to expand.

First off, “Robert” is definitely no “Jack Reacher.” Second, those are purely individuals, living in “1792,” not characters meant to represent our nations in 2016. There’s no personal opinion of mine “secretly” buried in there. Really!

Whatever United Kingdom voters decide in their referendum, let us all hope it turns out to be the correct choice. ๐Ÿ™‚

Further thoughts?

