Celebrating Fathers

Posted by

Today is about celebrating our fathers in their infinite variety and incalculable impacts on our lives. I had been thinking of what to say. However, every time I started writing I gave up – “That’s not it!” – and deleted what I’d begun.

Father's Day card, for my father. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Father’s Day card, for my father. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Nothing seemed to capture what I aimed to say. Then I recalled perhaps a more indirect approach would make the point. I reflected on how I’ve fictionalized certain fathers I’ve known over the years and thought sharing some bits here could in its own way serve as the best “tribute”:

Excerpt from "Distances," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Frontiers,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from "Distances," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Distances,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from "Passports," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from "Frontiers," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Frontiers,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

Above all, my dad: I’m at his house this morning and writing this post in his guestroom. I haven’t seen him yet, but I hear him downstairs now. We bought him an all-singing, all-dancing, super duper new TV for the lounge, and I helped him set it up last night. He was totally surprised when it was delivered Friday and loves it.

Understandably he’s had a hard time following Mom’s death in October. He was of a mild temperament compared to her, which may help explain how they fit well together and managed to be happily married for nearly 52 years. She was far more rash, emotional, outspoken, a worrier, a chatterbox, and had the potentially volcanic temper. In contrast, he was, and is still, usually calm, soft-spoken, patient, and possesses an often wickedly dry sense of humor:

Excerpt from "Distances," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Distances,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

God bless them.

Happy Father’s Day, to them all. 🙂

Further thoughts?

