Love: From A Man’s Perspective

Hello from northeastern Pennsylvania! I had a good flight over to the U.S., to Newark, NJ (just across the river from Manhattan). It was – thankfully – a Boeing 787 Dreamliner, which I find a much more comfortable plane than the older 777.

View from inside of Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport. [Photo by me, 2016.]
View from inside of Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport. [Photo by me, 2016.]

The one disappointment aboard were the movies weren’t a great choice. Knowing the visit to my dad’s might be a bit depressing, I thought I needed a laugh. I ended up going with a retread from YEARS ago. (So far so good, though. Dad’s been in a great mood.)

Yes, mid-Atlantic I actually watched the original Bridget Jones’s Diary, from 2001. If you’ve seen it, in spots it’s still hilarious. If you haven’t, and are reading this blog, you might enjoy it.

At one point, I reflected again on the reality of women writing novels about women which include a generous helping of their opinions about men. As a man, I always find such entertaining. The leading men are often portrayed as either handsome cads (Hugh Grant) that “self-destructive” women chase after, or the upright ideal “Mr. Mark Darcys” (Colin Firth) of the world.

I don’t think it needs pointing out that men do think about women, too. Men may, of course, be just as “self-destructive” in our own romantic pursuits. We also can long after some similarly ideal, say, “Mary Darcy,” as well.

Allow me also to share this insight as a man and a writer: Mostly, we simply can’t believe that you women love us:

Excerpt from "Frontiers," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Frontiers,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

Please never forget that. πŸ™‚

Look who was standing outside my father's guestroom window when I threw open the curtains this morning. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Look who was standing outside my father’s guestroom window when I threw open the curtains this morning. [Photo by me, 2016.]

Have a good day wherever you are in the world.

Further thoughts?

