Should The U.S. Have Become Independent?

Posted by

One of the challenges in fiction writing is putting yourself into someone else’s – usually quite a few someones – worldview. You have to be willing to see matters differently than you might otherwise. It may also call for espousing views that you may disagree with.

American reenactors in British uniforms, at the reconstructed Fort William Henry museum, Lake George, NY. [Photo by me, 2013.]
American reenactors in British uniforms, c. 1757, at the reconstructed Fort William Henry museum, Lake George, NY. [Photo by me, 2013.]

As you may have guessed given that intro and photo, I spent a good part of Friday good-naturedly “debating” with myself. Here’s part of the rough draft of that from “1787”:

Sneak Peek into  "Conventions." Click to expand.
Sneak Peek into “Conventions.” Click to expand.

You know, I kinda agree with both of them there at different points. 😉

I do sometimes talk to myself when I write, often reading out loud to see how it sounds especially when it comes to conversations: Do people actually speak that way? Fortunately, I don’t argue with myself out loud when I write. Well, at least I don’t when anyone else is within hearing distance. 🙂

Further thoughts?

