Starring Not That Louis

Caught up in writing and other life matters, I had somehow totally missed promos for this new BBC series. I learned of its existence only last night just after the opening episode was underway on BBC 2. So I didn’t see it:

Screen capture of the BBC web site.
Screen capture of the BBC web site.

I had just gotten back from Luton Airport with the Mrs when I happened to stumble on it mentioned on Twitter. Initially glimpsing only that it was called Versailles and centered around Louis…. briefly my heart sank. “Oh, no,” I thought, “my novel?”

However, when I read more about it and saw it was Louis XIV, I felt better: “Whew, fine. Not my Louis.” Dodged that, uh, hurled wig.

There were high hopes for it. I noticed it being eagerly anticipated by some as perhaps Wolf Hall transferred to France. If you’re here in the United Kingdom and saw it undoubtedly you have your own opinion, but that first episode unfortunately apparently left some viewers underwhelmed:

Screen capture of Twitter.
Screen capture of Twitter.

I will try to catch up with it and watch at least that first episode. I like to make my mind up for myself. But if it isn’t quite what it could have been, don’t worry, I’m determined to make my 18th century Franco-Anglo-American novel, set partly during the last years of the reign of the doomed Louis XVI, much better. πŸ˜‰

Have a good Thursday, wherever you are in the world. πŸ™‚

Further thoughts?

