An Ancient Picture-Making Device

Posted by

Over time I’ve posted various photos here (and over on Instagram) that I’d taken years – urr, decades – ago with my then 35mm camera. (One sample is here.) Well, I “re-discovered” it in a drawer yesterday underneath a pile of other half-forgotten stuff. Yes, my friends, this is it:

Front of my 35mm camera. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Front of my 35mm camera. [Photo by me, 2016.]

It is now over 25 years old. All of the cover photographs – fronts and backs – for my three novels to date were snapped using it. In fact that is the very camera that had prompted this discussion and plan:

Excerpt from "Passports," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

Finding it itself wasn’t the biggest deal, though. I knew generally where I’d had it stored. More interesting is what I found inside it:

Back of my “rediscovered” 35mm camera. Notice the FILM still in place from DECADES ago. [Photo by me, 2016.]

That’s right, it’s still loaded with film: a 24 print roll. I suspect it’s the beginning of it. A few seconds after seeing the film, I remembered I usually kept it loaded and ready to go.

A small “time capsule” into how things worked in the “old” days, kids. I have no idea how long that roll has been in there. I have not used that camera since at least 2000, when I got my first digital.

Amazing what we can stumble on, isn’t it? 🙂

8 comments

Further thoughts?

