Guys And Cars

Ah, the weekend. Yesterday, I did what guys are apparently supposed to do on a Saturday afternoon: I vacuumed and cleaned the inside of our car:

Our Audi. (Photo by me, 2016.)
Our Audi. (Photo by me, 2016.)

It’s an Audi. It’s a better drive than our last one here in Britain: the Volvo. (It finally bit the dust.) I like it.

But I have a confession to make….

….I don’t really think much about cars. I’ve never drooled over owning this or that model. Hanging out with the guys talkin’ about, uh, engine sizes, has never been something I did either.

Yes, I know they’re often a necessity. And I do like owning decent ones. And I do appreciate quality in them.

However, trust me, you’ll never see me on whatever is the latest incarnation of Top Gear. I gave “James” my outlook on that front. Poor guy, he has had to endure much the same joking at his expense that I’ve had to put up with at times over the years:

Excerpt from "Passports," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

My first car in my late teens was a tiny second-hand Japanese one that I avoided taking on Long Island’s highways because whenever it went above 50 MPH it would shake. When that car imploded, I went for something that actually could drive 55: a “practical” American-made car that ran pretty well, and which I owned for years after:

Excerpt from "Passports," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

Yes, there were those times a girl had a flash car. When I encountered that, sometimes it got me thinking that perhaps upgrading my automotive tastes might be a good idea. But to be completely honest here, usually the car wasn’t nearly what most interested me:

Excerpt from "Frontiers," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Frontiers,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

And there were the inevitable pals who owned “cool” cars who were always on at me over what I drove:

Excerpt from "Distances," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Distances,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

That’s one of the more amusing things when writing fiction: you can impart your own “foibles” on chosen characters.

My wife has the car knowledge and interest. She knows the best models and what she wants to drive. She chose the Audi.

When we got it a little over a year ago, they’d had only white in immediate stock. Getting another color would’ve meant waiting months, and she wanted an Audi. However, if I’m given the chance when it comes to a new car, she’ll always let me at least have a say in choosing the color. πŸ˜‰

Further thoughts?

