Those Italian Sweets

Posted by

Of my 8 great-grandparents, 5 were Italians, including several Sicilians. My wife likes to joke when we’ve been in Italy that Italians don’t seem to know what to make of me. “You look like you belong,” she says, “and they talk to you like you do.”

I’ve run into something similar here in Tenerife. Some Spaniards seem to think I fit in, too. Until I open my mouth, at least. 😉

There is also something of an Italian community here. The other night, we wandered into an Italian ice cream and sweets shop. The twenties-something Italian guy behind the counter looked at me initially and wasn’t sure which language to try on me first; he opened with a mishmash of Spanish and Italian until I made it plain I was neither Spanish or Italian.

His English was not great. But the ice creams were excellent. We also noticed the place sold….

What's in the wrapping? [Photo by me, 2016.]
What’s in the wrapping? [Photo by me, 2016.]

….tasty looking cannolis:

Two fantastic cannolis and small gift cakes. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Two fantastic cannolis and small gift cakes. [Photo by me, 2016.]

And they were seriously delicious.

Oh, yes, and before you even ask, that wine was excellent as well. 🙂

One comment

Further thoughts?

