Is Following A Kardashian Required?

Posted by

We did another long Tenerife hike yesterday. This time it was 11 miles (17 kms) mostly on rocky paths. Is willingly doing that sort of thing, how do you define insanity?

Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]

We were with an English guide we’d walked with three times before. This time, we joined a larger group of local walkers who walk regularly as a “club” with our guide: about ten British mums, two 11 year old girls (daughters of two of them), and a dog – all Tenerife permanent residents. Just two men – myself and the guide.

“Their husbands don’t like walking,” the guide told us in the car as we drove to the supermarket car park where he meets up with them.

“Don’t worry,” my wife chuckled, “he [me] won’t mind.”

After we got back to the apartment, more than a bit worn, I decided to have a tinker with my brand new Instagram account. (Now, that’s new of me to say!) It’s like a shiny new toy. I also thought I’d get started following some people.

You may recall I’d had a laugh here over the initial suggestions Instagram directed my way moments after I’d signed up the other day. After I opened the app yesterday, I found a few, uh, other “follow” suggestions:

Screen capture of Instagram.
Screen capture of Instagram.

Seriously, people? I checked again a little while later:

Screen capture of Instagram.
Screen capture of Instagram.

Now, stop it! This isn’t funny anymore!

I’m going back to “1794” again in a little while. True, that was hardly a great time either, I know. But 2016 is just too much for me this morning. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Back here in 2016, I may just “appear,” following you on Instagram. If you’re there already and would like me to follow you, follow me to “let me know.” I promise I’ll follow you back.

Have a good Monday (and a holiday if you are in much of the world outside of the U.S.), wherever you are in the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

Further thoughts?

