“Action And Adventure” Violence

Posted by

You may remember that I mentioned I had a “minor story epiphany” for Conventions on our walk on Tuesday?

Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]

We were in much of yesterday “recovering.” 10 miles walking is 10 miles! I think a down day was not unreasonable.

A view. Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]
A view. Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]

I took the opportunity while “resting” to open the Microsoft Surface and REALLY have a thorough go at writing that forest-walk “epiphany.” Having done more than I’d expected, I thought I’d post a small part of it here for you. As I think on it now, this is I believe the first overtly fictional scene from the rough draft that I’m sharing on the Internet for potentially the whole world to stumble upon. Ooh, the nervousness…

Sneak Peek into  "Conventions." Click to expand.
Sneak Peek into “Conventions.” Click to expand.

Of course I’m not revealing here what happens next! 😉

I will say seriously that writing graphic violence is new to me. I like reality in fiction. So I do feel violence in fiction should not be treated more lightly than violence in real-life.

In our entertainment culture we do seem to be rather blasé about it, and we really shouldn’t be. True, we now do see lots of blood and gore (as compared to the “old days” when fight scenes left no one even so much as scratched), but there still seems a “falsehood” about it. The violence may be more realistically bloody perhaps, but much of the time the consequences still seem lacking: the heroes and heroines do still appear mostly to recover pretty darn quick, or they are dispatched quickly and everyone just shrugs.

Free Stock Photo: Closeup of knight with lance.
Free Stock Photo: Closeup of knight with lance.

I’m also one of those who identify strongly with the long-held assertion that it’s ironic so many are seemingly so put-off by consensual sex in novels and films, while someone getting their head shot off doesn’t appear to bother them nearly as much.

One comment

Further thoughts?

