On The Edge

We went out for a walk/hike yesterday here in Tenerife, taking a trek recommended by one of the owners of the apartment we’re borrowing. It took us some 4 miles up and across a coastal plateau below a couple of large hills/small mountains. It also included walkers having to go up and down some inland cliff-like trails – all pretty well-marked, reasonably safe in hiking shoes, and even carefully maintained in many places.

Walking through here: our challenge. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Walking through here: our challenge. [Photo by me, 2016.]

[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]

We passed a few other walkers, but we had the area largely to ourselves. The vistas around were gorgeous. It reminded me of the American southwest, even including cactus:

[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]

Eventually, pretty worn, we reached our goal: another coastal town.

Recharging for the walk back, we had lunch. (Take a taxi? Seriously? C’mon, that wouldn’t have been any fun!) After eating, we decided to return by a slightly different path, this one along a coastal cliff area. The initial ascent was challenging (and I’m not big on heights), but it was worth doing and seeing.

Most of the rest of the hike back was similar to our outbound trek. Toward the end of it, though, the path took us practically “mountain climbing” up a short distance. It was weird. I thought: What ordinary walker would want to do this?

It was actually intimidating. At one point, I was asking myself: What the heck am I doing here? I found myself thinking: I should be back in the apartment, with a vodka and Coke alongside me, writing the new book, or in some harbor view cafe having an Old Fashioned!

Approaching the top, relieved, and feeling a bit triumphant at our personal “Everest” accomplishment, as we made our way up the last few rocky, steep yards, we noticed the back of a large sign. On our feet again, stepping around it to read it, we saw it shared some, uh, helpful information with the hiking public:

[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]

Uh, Dear Spanish parks people: It is best the “No pasar” signs are posted at BOTH ends of a coastal cliff path you’d rather no one use. Otherwise [surprise, surprise] one might do precisely what we did – find the only sign as we finish climbing up that trail…. we were not supposed to have been on in the first place! Muchas gracias.

Not long after, back in civilization at last, after our brief experience of livin’ “on the edge,” we celebrated:

After the return, having made it both directions, we rested. [Photo by me, 2016.]
After the return, having made it both directions, we rested. [Photo by me, 2016.]

They were the best darn beers we’ve ever had in our lives.

Hope you’re having a good weekend. 🙂

One thought on “On The Edge

  1. Sheryl Rose April 4, 2016 / 12:51 am

    Bummer then a beer! I really liked your photos especially the one with the cactus..

    Like

Further thoughts?

