And Red Roses, Too

Posted by

Pre-arrival, I had been looking forward to working on Conventions – the next book – while we’re here. After all, coastal Spain? Could there be a better spot in the world?

I have my manuscript-in-progress awaiting me in my trusty Microsoft Surface. I brought along two vital paperback histories for background research. I even have a writing location staked out in the apartment.

My late uncle would be so proud of me.

The huge problem? This place is just too darn pleasant:

Street view, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Street view, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]

We’ve been here since Tuesday, and I’m almost too relaxed now. The sun. The warmth. The scenery. The (carefully dethorned) roses given out to women after Easter Sunday Mass, one of which was handed to my wife:

Post-Easter Sunday Mass rose. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Post-Easter Sunday Mass rose. [Photo by me, 2016.]

The Spanish priest – the same one as on Good Friday – who shook her hand as the congregation filed out, wished her a “Happy Easter” unprompted in English. Separated from her, when my turn came I got a “Feliz Pascua.” So (once again) I guess we know who looked more like “a local.”

Anyway, I did do some useful reading yesterday while lounging in the mid-afternoon. It’s the most of anything related to the new book that I’ve done in over a week. But that was all I could manage.

For who wants to stay shut up indoors typing? Still, of course story ideas can hit us from any direction and often unexpectedly. Saturday, for instance, when from the balcony I saw this slowly motoring by….

Replica old Spanish ship, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Replica old Spanish ship, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. [Photo by me, 2016.]

….suddenly I thought I could find a way to weave these magnificent Canary Islands into Conventions. It’ll be a great addition.

Now, I just have to write it down. Easter’s over. Time to begin getting “re-motivated” somehow….

By the way, before I forget, that bottle pictured above? That was already ours and it’s filled with water there. No, they weren’t handing those out after Mass. 😉

Further thoughts?

