“So, what’s your book about?”

Posted by

Every novelist has to expect to be asked for the dreaded “blurb.” So you always need a few sentences ready. I think this explanation of Conventions: The Garden At Paris, which I’m busily writing, sums it up reasonably well:

Screen capture of a summary of "Conventions." Click to expand.
Screen capture of a summary of “Conventions.” Click to expand.

I thought of that yesterday. Not bad for a first attempt, I suppose. We have to start somewhere, right?

A view of part of the Catskills "Windham Path," a few weeks ago. [Photo my me, 2016.]
A view of part of the Catskills “Windham Path,” a few weeks ago. [Photo my me, 2016.]

That photograph represents kinda how I pictured the edge of “Robert’s” nineteenth century upstate New York property. We get story ideas from more sources than we can begin to list. Part of my inspiration for this one was a visit in 2014 to U.S. President (1837-1841) Martin Van Buren’s nearby long-time upstate home, in the small town of Kinderhook:

A view of President Martin Van Buren's Columbia County, New York home. [Photo by me, 2014.]
A view of President Martin Van Buren’s Columbia County, New York home. [Photo by me, 2014.]

Although one of the political “giants” in his era, Van Buren was a less than successful president. Beset by a terrible economic downturn that hit the country shortly after he assumed office (the foundations of which were in his predecessor Andrew Jackson’s policies), he served only one term. Today, he is certainly one of the “lesser known” American presidents.

The tale is proving to be quite a writing challenge. However, I’m “enjoying” struggling with it. Putting up with me here daily as you willingly do, I thought you deserved a first formal “taster.”

Hope you’re having a good weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 comments

Further thoughts?

