Wanted: Their “Effortless Sophistication”

Posted by

Last night, as we sat about three feet apart, my wife forwarded me this Telegraph article, messaging:

Screen capture of Facebook Messenger.
Screen capture of Facebook Messenger.

“Amuse” me? Actually, I took cover. It’s about a matchmaking company for the “well-to-do.”

No, she was not hinting about what she had in mind for herself. (I hope.) Rather, it was because of a major assertion made in it. First, the background:

Seventy-Thirty has a global membership of around 2,000, with the majority of their clients aged between 30 and 60. When its Managing Director, Lemarc Thomas told Jake he had found the perfect match for him in London, Jake saw it as opportunity not a problem.

Moving on, as that client seeing the “opportunity” said:

“The dating scene in New York is too aggressive for me,” he explains. “I travel a lot and I’m more drawn to the effortless sophistication of European women. Anna sounded intriguing so I flew out to meet her the following weekend.”

“Effortless sophistication.” Hmmm. Hold that major thought. Also, it appears the wider business is booming:

It was reported this week that Berkeley International, another elite dating service which has 5,000 clients – “a mix of CEOs, barristers, doctors and hedge fund types” – has seen a 50 per cent rise in Londoners seeking to be introduced to New Yorkers.

As you may know, I’m a New Yorker. My wife (of some years) is a born and raised Londoner. Impatiently waiting for me to finish reading the piece, with a devious grin she interrogated me: “Those girls [in your novels]. Surely you think we European women have an effortless sophistication?”

Like I needed this. Surprised and stumped, I didn’t offer a quick reply. I readily admit my first reaction was to try to think of how to answer…. and, indeed, a second later of shifting to wondering if I could get out of answering at all.

Unwilling to let me off, though (and evidently enjoying seeing me squirming a little), she gently pressed the question: “You do think that, don’t you?”

Excerpt from "Distances," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Distances,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

As sharing that article with me itself demonstrates, my “intriguing” wife has a wicked sense of humo(u)r. But I won’t reveal how I finally answered her query. However, allow me to make it absolutely clear here that, yes, she has also always possessed, ahem, an “effortless sophistication.”

Hope you’re having a good weekend! 🙂

One comment

Further thoughts?

