“An attempt to explain to the English reader….”

Posted by

Last year here in London at my in-laws, I stumbled on a virtually pristine 1948 British published hardcover of Raymond Chandler’s famous The Big Sleep. Yesterday, I found another 1940s hardcover; it’s condition isn’t quite as good, but it still possesses a mostly intact dust jacket. It’s a 1944 book by a British academic:

[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]

That year, there were by then a couple of million U.S. servicemen and women housed here in the U.K., based in the country in order to help smash Nazi Germany. The book was meant to “explain” to British readers who these “Yanks” were. The jacket’s front cover inside flap explains:

[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]

Note the price: 10 shillings and 6 pence. They don’t do shillings here any longer. It was also Bristol published:

[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]

Do read this – the first page. You gotta love it:

[Photo by me, 2016.]
[Photo by me, 2016.]

Again, today I’m once more back to working “in” an even more distant time from ourselves. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments

Further thoughts?

