Warmth Amidst Winter’s Chill

As we know, e-books have changed writing in more ways than we can hope to count. Yet certain aspects of the “old-fashioned” paperback are hard to top. For instance, you can pull one you’d authored off a shelf and try to impress your nephew’s girlfriend…. πŸ˜‰

Excerpt from "Passports," on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.
Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

Naturally, it’s, uh, “tougher” to autograph Kindles. If you have one or more of my novels, I just wanted once more to say “Thank you.” I hope you have enjoyed, or will enjoy, the read(s).

After all, without you there is really no point to any of this. And in a more personal sense I mean you beyond being a reader/follower. The three months since the sudden deaths of my mother and my uncle (and with many a conversation with my father since then taking to spiraling downwards into his depressingly declaring he’s wishes he was dead too) have been the toughest and saddest of my life….

Icy pond yesterday in a park, near Bristol. [Photo by me, 2016.]
Icy pond yesterday in a park, near Bristol. [Photo by me, 2016.]

No matter how old you are, the death of a parent (who’d raised you and had always been there) changes you dramatically. I’m a “different” person, I feel, somehow, than I had been when I’d awoken in my parents’ house the morning of October 26 – my mother’s last morning. All that you do afterwards no longer includes that parent, and you become much more conscious of the mortality of the surviving one. Suddenly, you are thrust into another phase of your own life.

Many of you have become “virtual friends.” I know I won’t meet most of you in person ever, but your support here – prayers, best wishes, good words – has helped make these last months a bit more bearable. That is “social media” at its best, and I can’t thank you all enough….

Official signature of this author.
Official signature of this author.

I just wanted to make that absolutely clear. Now, I’m back to work. You have a good Thursday as well, wherever you are. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Warmth Amidst Winter’s Chill

  1. manfromatlan January 21, 2016 / 1:54 pm

    Best wishes for you and your father. Humans are resilient. Am sure you’ll both pass through this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • R. J. Nello January 21, 2016 / 2:40 pm

      I’ll do what everyone does: I’m getting used to it. It’s a trial we all face someday.

      As for my dad, I wish I could make it all go away. Of course, I can’t.

      Liked by 1 person

Further thoughts?

