“We’ll probably get buried in one huge storm….”

Posted by

Yes, I’ve made some scattered notes for a new novel, but they’re scribbles really, so I don’t count them as “work.” 😉 I’m still drained and feel if I keep going I’ll just write junk. So I am determined to stick to my hiatus: no writing of any amount (aside from here with you, and Twittering) before mid-January.

There’s other stuff to do around the house here in the Catskills anyway. For example, yesterday, we had a firewood delivery. Ready for the snow:

A firewood delivery, awaiting stacking. [Photo by me, 2015.]
A firewood delivery, awaiting stacking. [Photo by me, 2015.]

Stacking all of that properly helped clear my head. Moreover, piling the wood provided a needed physical outlet to de-stress regarding certain (post-Mom’s death) family frustrations I’m facing. When you’re too old to throw a tantrum…. you throw firewood around!:

Firewood stacked. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Firewood stacked. [Photo by me, 2015.]

Oh, you may have also noticed mounted on the wall are two old sleds. They were mine as a kid, and my parents had kept them from my childhood. I took them off them a few years ago and hung them up.

Actually, my mother had shoved them at me: “Take them, or they’re going in the garbage!”

They’re real wood and have heavy, sharp metal blades. You’d probably get arrested now if you let a child within ten feet of one of them!

No sign of major snow yet. The guy who delivered the wood (we’ve used his for years) wasn’t unhappy about that, though. “It’ll snow eventually,” he said to me as we stood on the back of his truck and tossed it all on the floor. “We’ll probably get buried in one huge storm.”

You know I’ve never really gotten the hang of selfies. However, after I finished my wood stacking exercise, I’d thought I’d risk one:

Me, after stacking the wood. [Photo by me, 2015.]
Me, after stacking the wood. [Photo by me, 2015.]

A couple of hours later, I happened to catch the sunset. Gorgeous combination of cloud and fading light:

A Catskills sunset. [Photo by me, 2015.]
A Catskills sunset. [Photo by me, 2015.]

Have a good weekend, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

3 comments

Further thoughts?

