Mountain Retreat

Posted by

I have to say I’m enjoying not feeling compelled to write every day. The deaths of my mother and my uncle two weeks apart really knocked the wind out of me. I still can’t quite believe they are both gone.

So a break now is probably a good idea. While writing each novel I became so absorbed I was a mess for months. Partly that’s because I never knew when an idea would hit, so I’d keep my iPhone’s Notes app within easy reach. “Oh, I love that!” I’d awaken at 3 am. “What a line! I have to write that down now, before I forget it.”

In a way, I’ve discovered that’s also a curse. You can’t ever entirely unwind or let it go. Your mind is always “on.”

Suddenly, no more of that for the time being, just an effort to slow down for a few weeks. As an aside, I just thought of this: One of the amusing things about here in the Catskills is the sheer number of yoga studios.

You pass so many you feel there has got to be at least one studio in every hamlet: even ours has one. But I can’t see myself doing that. Much more my approach to “centering” myself is reading, music, working around the house, church, walking, or meandering around.

Owing to the latter, here are a couple of local Catskills photos I snapped yesterday:

From a parking viewpoint on Route 23, which winds westwards up into the Catskills from the north-south New York State Thruway (I-87). New York State is spread out immediately below. Off in the distance, to the center and right, you can see to Vermont, Massachusetts and Connecticut. [Photo by me, 2015.]
From a parking viewpoint on Route 23, which winds westwards up into the Catskills from the north-south New York State Thruway (I-87). New York State is spread out immediately below. Off in the distance, to the center and right, you can see to Vermont, Massachusetts and Connecticut. [Photo by me, 2015.]
From Rt 23 (Main Street) in Windham, looking at part of Windham Mountain. [Photo by me, 2015.]
From Route 23 (Main Street) in Windham, looking at part of Windham Mountain. [Photo by me, 2015.]
By the way, I was inaccurate in yesterday’s post about the lack of snow on Windham Mountain. Snow making has been happening on the runs facing away from the view from our house. But, as you see above, there isn’t much made, and (as of today I don’t believe) the resort is open for skiing yet.

Oh, you know what? It’s also “dangerous” taking a break and “relaxing,” too. Because yesterday I had an idea. (For a perhaps fourth book?) What did I do? Of course I quickly pulled out my iPhone and tapped tapped tapped it into my Notes app. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a good weekend, wherever you are in our insane world. ๐Ÿ™‚

Further thoughts?

