“Hold on, it’ll come to me: We met that time in Malta, right?”

While, yes, I do point to “personal” matters on here and other “public” social media, I usually do so as an adjunct to what’s in my novels. Something that might surprise you: I’m not a very “public” person. I just want my novels to be enjoyed.

I have two Facebook accounts. My main one is under my real name and is “personal” – visible to friends (in the pre-Facebook use of the word) and family. The rest of my social media – my (still underutilized, I know) Facebook author page, my Twitter, and of course this blog – revolve around my “public” persona (such as it is).

Free Stock Photo: Public parking sign and entrance.
Free Stock Photo: Public parking sign and entrance.

I think most of us understand there does seem increasingly to be a blurring of the remaining “boundary” between the private and the public, and we accept that. Yet as part of that, a distinction between “home” space and “work” space seems rapidly being eroded, too. Facebook has become one of those places we see it.

I’ve got nothing against making new “friends” who could become friends eventually. (A few from social media have, so I have allowed them into my “private” space.) Still, there is a line someplace. Case in point: last week, I’d had a Messenger exchange with a relative, and I opened (in this excerpt) by mentioning yet another older relative of ours who is very ill, possibly terminal:

Screen capture of a Messenger exchange - myself and a cousin.
Screen capture of a Messenger exchange – myself and a cousin.

“A.R.” wanted to be “friends” with me, but I couldn’t recall ever encountering her in person, or even through any social media whatsoever. Her name meant nothing to me. I had not the faintest idea who she was.

Some people seem to do that on Facebook. They trawl “friends of friends” looking to become “friends.” I guess that’s okay if you are just looking to make someone’s acquaintance.

But sometimes it seems it’s done for business reasons. She didn’t really want to be “friends.” She was looking to “network.”

That’s fine in its way, too. We all do “business” on some level at times. This site here where you are now, as you probably know, is the center of my authoring universe.

There are obviously “wildly public” places out there, like my site here, to, say, “network” and talk “business.” We definitely need those. But I also like to use a “private” Facebook account for a smallish number of people with whom I’m close “personally.”

We all need somewhere that isn’t necessarily “wildly public.” And not everywhere is about “business.” At least, that’s what I think.

Do you feel the same? Or am I just being awkward and arbitrary in holding that stance? That distant cousin of mine – who owns her own business – above doesn’t think so.

Hope you’re having a good day. ๐Ÿ™‚

Further thoughts?

