“Passports”: Free For Five Days

Posted by

It’s just a little something. It’s hardly a huge deal. But in memory of my mother (she as you know died on October 26), and my novelist uncle (he as you know died on October 12), the first novel, Passports, is free on Kindle for five days – through November 7.

To get it, click on the link (that applies):

Amazon.com
Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.ca
Amazon.com.au
Amazon.fr

It’s at all the other Amazons, too.

In this excerpt, “James” meets “Uncle Bill’s” Paris publisher for the first time:

Excerpt from
Excerpt from “Passports,” on the iPad app for Kindle. Click to expand.

If you download the full e-book, I hope you enjoy it.

Autumn “Welcome” mat, my parents’ house, Poconos, Pennsylvania. [Photo by me, 2015.]

In happier news than you’ve seen on my page here in the last few weeks, Distances will still be released as planned for Kindle (and in paperback) on November 29.

Of course we never know what’s around the corner in life. The death of a parent has a way of enforcing serious life perspective on you. A novel’s release is hardly “important” in the wider scheme of things.

Yet it dawned on me recently that if I had not essentially finished the manuscript before October 7 (the evening we took my mother to the E.R. and were shocked to discover she had terminal cancer), between my mother’s illness and subsequent death (I still can’t quite believe it), and my uncle’s death, I doubt I could have finished that novel this year. Indeed I might have been thrown off so badly I may never have completed it in its “original” form. Whenever I’d finally finished it, it would have likely become a “different” book.

I have the best readers and social media friends there are. I don’t want to let you down. I hope the upcoming Distances is at least on par with the first two novels…. and hopefully better.

Have a good day, wherever you are in the world. 🙂

Further thoughts?

